Royal Ascot Preview and Hamburger Stew!

1 Comment

Got off to a slow start today in our house – you would think I was about to deliver a baby or something!! 🙂 My tummy has been a bit upset all day, so since my tomato/mushroom/onion/mozzerella frittata I have pretty much been lying on the couch 😦  Just made lunch for the kids – leftover soup from last night for which I will post the recipe today – and cleaned up some dishes that have been needing attention for a few days.  Now I’m wiped out again but will go upstairs and put the clean sheets on my bed and hopefully shower and wash my hair – and that will be the sum total of my accomplishments today.  I have been having a lot of Braxton-Hicks contractions the last few days whenever I’m up and about – usually as the day progresses, but today they’ve been with me ever since I got up this morning.  Will this mean the end to my running??? Guess I’ll find out tomorrow morning when I try to go for a run! 🙂

I wanted to post a few pictures from the Royal Ascot so that you might be excited to see the full recap next Tuesday on my trip report.  I’m not going to caption any of them here but will just let them speak for themselves!  There are a few of me so you can see my hat, too, but I’ll see if I have any close-ups of the hat for Tuesday’s post 🙂

Here’s the recipe I promised – a simple soup that the kids and grownups like 🙂  It’s another I adapted from the More With Less Cookbook.  The original recipe had tomato juice in it, and even the low sodium brands have a ton of sodium.  Instead of that I buy chopped canned tomatoes and pop them in the blender with a bit of water — hardly any sodium at all, and a bit sweeter.  I also use a bit more juice because otherwise it’s too chunky at doesn’t have any broth.  I forgot to take pictures at the start, so by the time I remembered I had already made it few half the recipe 😦  You start out by browning the ground beef in your soup pot, and then draining off the grease.  Then you add the cubed potatoes and carrots to the pot with the meat, along with enough tomato juice to cover the vegetables so you can boil them until they are tender.  Here’s a picture:

Meanwhile, melt 2 Tbsp butter in a separate pot, stirring in 2 Tbsp flour, and then adding 2 cups milk and stirring til it thickens.  Once everything is tender, add the milk pot to the potato pot.  Stir it up and then serve!

 

Here’s the recipe in case you’re interested:

Hamburger Stew

In a big soup pot:

Brown 1 pound of ground beef.  Drain the grease and leave it in your pot.

Add 2 cups diced potatoes and 2 cups sliced carrots to the pot.

Cover the vegetables with homemade tomato juice using 2 cans chopped tomatoes blended with water in a blender.

Also add 2 tsp salt to potato pot.

In a different pot:

Melt 2 Tbsp butter.

Stir in 2 Tbsp flour until smooth.

Add 2 cups milk and stir over medium heat until it thickens.

Pour the milk pot into the potato pot and stir.

 

 

One thought on “Royal Ascot Preview and Hamburger Stew!

  1. Sounds yummy and easy. I bet it’d be good with cheddar on top and some crackers — or a grilled cheese on the side. You could do bison instead of beef, or even italian sausage, too.

    How does Greer do with soups? Little Tiger loves when we have it, but he still makes quite a mess. :/ I’ve tried regular spoons, Asian style soup spoons and his kid-sized spoons. All produce pretty similar results. And, in the end, not a whole lot gets consumed.

    I know I need to let him practice more, but the cleanup can be tedious, so I often go for other options. Like everything with parenting, it’s a balance. 🙂

What's Your Take?

