Running to the Starting Line…

2 Comments

Image

So I did it again. Went running.  At least this time I’m pretty sure it will be the last run until after the pregnancy, since I’m due in two days.  I know I said that with the last run, but that one had uncertainty about it while I was running, and with this one – knowing that labor is imminent – it was a definite motivating factor!  The picture is after the run – 39 weeks, 6 days pregnant 🙂

Why go running today?  As I look out the window writing this, it’s POURING rain.  Patience just said it – “Whoa! It’s pouring rain!”  But earlier, it wasn’t.  So here’s why I went…

1)  I have two legs that I can still operate independently of this big belly, and baby’s still happy and safe inside.

2)  It was not raining, something which has been a rarity around here since April.

3)  It was 10am — I didn’t have to get up early to do it.

4)  John didn’t have to leave for work until 11:30am, so I didn’t need to get a babysitter!

5)  Even though it’s July 11, it was overcast, cool, and breezy.  Can’t ask for better running weather than that.  There was blue sky peeking out with grey clouds threatening a shower.  Perfect.

6)  I want to go into labor and have this baby!!! 🙂

So I’m running….to the starting line of my next big race — labor.  For me, every labor has been long and painful, and I have dreaded going into labor more and more each time.  I’ve been working towards this day for so long now, training to be in the best shape of my life so that when this “marathon” event starts I will be ready, and hopefully it won’t be as painful as the last five.

I started out my run very slowly, with a lot of pressure on my bladder, but being encouraged by these words to the song “Ready to Go” by Republica (an old 80s song):

“It’s a crack, I’m back yeah standing
On the rooftops shouting out,
Baby I’m ready to go
I’m back and ready to go
From the rooftops shout it out”

Wow, it is really coming down outside!! It was absolutely beautiful when I finished up my run – so glad I got out there and enjoyed the nice weather for the hour that we had it!!

I was going to run only two miles but after about half a mile I was feeling great and was determined to do three.  It’s an out-and-back route, so it’s 1 1/2 miles out – meaning  I made the decision at a mile to “go the extra mile”, after which I was locked into it.  Around 1 3/4 miles I started having discomfort in the pelvic region like I had last Thursday on my two mile run the whole way, but by then I would have had the feeling whether I walked or ran, so I finished the run home, stopping right at 3 miles and walking up the big hill to the house.  It ended up being 3 miles at 11:50 pace, respectable for me at this stage in things 🙂  I may never push a triple stroller at 8 minute pace as Dorothy of Mile Posts does, but I just ran 3 miles at a good pace two days before I’m due. Sweet!!  Getting me through that last mile was Mumford and Sons:

“It’s empty in the valley of your heart
The sun, it rises slowly as you walk
Away from all the fears
And all the faults you’ve left behind…

Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again”

I wouldn’t call what I was feeling “pain” exactly, but that line – finding strength in pain – really keeps me going every time I hear it because I know the pain I am soon to face, and I know that I am going to find strength in it this time – more strength than even in the other four deliveries that I did without pain medications – and I am going to (with the help of my wonderful labor coach, my husband John) finish this race strong, even stronger than how I start it.  If you needed the extra nudge to get out the door today – then I hope that this does it for you.  You’re strong, and you’re not 40 weeks pregnant, and you probably also have two legs — get out there and workout for your own good (Unfortunately, your weather is probably not as pleasant as mine – but maybe it will be better late at night?) 🙂  Please pray with me if that’s your thing, that I will go into labor soon, that we will stay strong, that, Lord willing, it will be shorter and easier than in the past, and that most of all, it will be a safe and healthy delivery for me and the baby.

I just had a delicious protein shake to take care of my nutritional needs, since for some reason I have no desire to eat anything – decaf instant coffee, raw cacao powder, a banana, ice, rice milk, and agave – and am going to go take a nice long bath before moving on to a few more “pre-baby” tasks – like sorting out all the pump bottles and making sure my pump is in good shape, putting the liner and bedding back onto the Moses basket since I washed it all yesterday, getting the baskets of nursing supplies, diapers, burp cloths, etc, together for the various rooms in the house, packing my bag for the hospital (apparently because it is an NHS hospital I’ve been told there will be no food – or it will be scant and gross – no real drinks offered except hot tea, no extra nappies/wipes/pads like they always have when you deliver and you take home with you, and we should even bring pillows and a towel for showering!), and continuing to make sure the kids are fed and clothed 🙂  Karen, our “maternity nurse” scheduled to be with the family during the labor and the day or two after (it’s a special qualification for nannies who help immediately after and the months following a birth) could only be here through Friday morning because of another job starting up for her after that.  Thankfully, though, Stephanie messaged me yesterday that she’s available Friday, so that’s another day covered!!  Saturday and Sunday if we have the baby then we should have help from some church friends, and then my mom plans on flying in.  So I think we’re all covered — “On the rooftops shouting out – baby I’m ready to go!!”

What’s your most motivating song right now (lyrics would be nice, too) – whether for just getting dressed for the day or for working out?

What do you like/need to pack in your hospital bag for having a baby – or what would you recommend even if you haven’t had kids?

(By the way it’s sunny and gorgeous again right now as I’m adding these questions) What is your favorite stuff to add to protein powder in a blender for a shake?

2 thoughts on “Running to the Starting Line…

  1. You never cease to amaze and inspire! Great job 🙂 Praying for you and baby. “You will keep him in Perfect Peace whose mind is stayed on You, because he Trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3

What's Your Take?

