Weekly Recipe Recommend – Biscuits and Gravy :)

2 Comments

I think now that the cooking spree is over from stuffing my freezer before the baby I can make it back to once-a-week recipes 🙂  I have still been cooking quite a bit since I have yet to go into labor and am trying to save most of the freezer food for post partum times, but most of it has been just piecing together simple things (like steak with steamed veggies.)  Last night, though, a roll of sausage seemed the simplest thing to thaw out, so I decided on biscuits and gravy.  I finally tried a recipe I have wanted to sample for a while for the biscuits –  from a “Paleo” cookbook posted on by Runfargirl on her blog here.  I’ll still post the recipe for the biscuits at the end since I’ll be talking about them on here, but it is not the real “recipe” about which I am posting 🙂

The gravy is the real deal – made from Jimmy Dean sausage with butter, milk, flour, salt, and pepper.  John’s mom told me how to make it since he requested I find out from her, it being one of his favorite breakfast foods on special days 🙂

Gabriel started us out by browning the sausage – and in the meantime I worked on the biscuits.

After you brown the sausage, do not drain the grease.

There isn’t enough grease to do what we need to do next, so I use butter (you could try another oil).  I spread the sausage to the outer rim of the pan and melt a bit of butter in the middle.

Next stir the flour in to the melted butter, still trying to keep it away from the sausage.

Pour the milk in slowly, trying to keep it just in with the butter and flour so that you can get rid of as many lumps as possible before mixing in the sausage.  Then mix in everything and keep stirring, trying to get it well mixed and all the lumps gone.  Add in salt and pepper to taste.  Here’s how it looks:

Gabriel insisted he be in this picture with the gravy he had worked on so hard 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the recipe, roughly:

Sausage Gravy

Brown:
1 roll Jimmy Dean sausage

Add to skillet:

2 Tbsp butter

4 Tbsp flour

2 cups milk

Salt and Pepper to taste

(I added half a cup of water along the way to keep it from getting too thick since the biscuits still needed some time.)

Here’s the biscuit recipe, along with a few pictures along the way 🙂  I would not use this recipe again because it tasted too coconut-y for me and also was a bit of an odd texture.  I would like to experiment more with other flours like this, though, so I am going to look around a bit for another possible biscuit recipe 🙂

Basic Biscuits (from Paleo Comfort Foods)

6 large egg whites*
1/4 cup coconut flour
3/4 cup blanched almond flour
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tbs. grass-fed butter or coconut oil
dash of salt

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. In a bowl, whisk the egg whites until they are very frothy
3. in a separate bowl, mix the two flours and baking powder and then with fork, cut in the cold butter and add salt. Make a crumbly mixture. Let this sit in the fridge for 15-20 minutes.
4. Remove from fridge and gently fold in egg whites to crumbled mixture, stirring to mix.
5. Spoon mixture onto greased baking sheet. (Makes about 6 large biscuits.) Bake 12-15 minutes until golden brown.

Another reason to not use this recipe again is because it uses 6 egg whites and only gives you 6 biscuits.  That’s a lot of eggs to invest!

This is the crumbly mixture of the baking powder, salt, almond flour, coconut flour, and butter.  I would recommend skipping the eggs and moving on to this part so you can have it refrigerating while you whip up your egg whites.

After it chills, you add in the beaten eggwhites, which Claire was happy to do for us.

In case you’ve never had biscuits and gravy, you split your biscuit in half on the plate and then ladle the gravy over the top.  This was all very quickly gobbled up by the clan! 🙂

Dinner was rounded off with some lovely melon in our weekly fruit and veg delivery 🙂  Tonight I don’t think I’ll make anything.  Maybe I’ll have them all eat cereal — it’s already 6pm, and I’m feeling yucky from the castor oil pills I just took.  John and I went out on a date to a few stores to check for some things and for me to walk around a lot, and then ended up at Starbucks for a frappucino 🙂  On our way home John dropped me off at the trail that leads behind the church and down to the road I normally run on, and walked home and back up that hill – just for a little extra walking 🙂  Now I think I’ll rest on the couch for a bit.  Still no signs of labor so I should be getting up and getting after dinner, but I am feeling tired, possibly from being 40 weeks pregnant today 🙂  Stephanie came over this morning at 8 to get Greer up, thus letting John and me sleep in til almost 10!  She took care of everyone while we rested up, not knowing when the baby will arrive to steal our sleep 🙂  When we got up, she used the leftover egg yolks, along with a few more eggs, to make John and me breakfast burritos, and she had even made two pitchers of tea for me to have as iced tea today and tomorrow (one of raspberry herbal and one a simple decaf tea.)  Then she watched the children, making them lunch and such, so we could go out on our date 🙂 We love Stephanie!  We have someone else on call now through Sunday afternoon, and grandma arriving next week.  Let’s get this show on the road!! 🙂 Oh, and in case you’re wondering – it rained again today – not til after I got back from the walk up to the house, but it poured for about two hours.  Sunny again now at 6pm.  The weather here is so strange!!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recipe Recommend – Biscuits and Gravy :)

  1. Here’s hoping you are laboring right now. When will they induce if you haven’t gone into labor? 42 weeks? Have you gone early at all with the others? I can’t remember if you’ve said, but are you having this one at home or hospital? I know…so many birth questions but I love to hear stories 🙂

    Keep posting..I love reading them!

    • Still not in labor! Only on my first day after the due date at this point, though 🙂 I have no idea about inducing here in the UK because I haven’t talked about it with my midwife yet, but I seriously doubt I will end up at a midwife appointment this coming Wednesday (they only have midwife clinics on Wednesdays here. Good ole National Health Service) which would still be less than a week overdue. I suppose if I’m that late I’ll go in to see her and see what she says, but I don’t plan on any medical inducing. Planning on the hospital. I think I went early with numbers 3, 4, and 5, but John thinks I wasn’t early with number 5. Problem is I can’t remember the due dates hahaha. Last one I know I was late on – maybe 4-5 days – was Gabriel, and this is a boy, too, so maybe that has something to do with it?

What's Your Take?

