Running 3 days after I was due…does it induce labor???

4 Comments

So Monday morning I woke up after a really nice night’s sleep and felt good in mind and body, so I decided to go for a run!  I can’t claim to have “run on my due date” because I didn’t feel like running that day.  But Monday, I felt like it, so I did it.  It took about 25 minutes to get ready to run, and then I ran for 25 minutes – only 2.16 miles, but it was enough 🙂  I felt pretty decent the first .9 miles or so, but then the discomfort set in, so I decided to turn around at a mile.  I was still able to keep up a decent pace – 11:53 min/mile – for the past two months I’ve been excited enough about anything under 12 minute miles 🙂

It was raining while I was getting dressed to go, but I didn’t care.  Sitting around waiting on labor is getting really old, so I didn’t care if it meant running in the rain, I was going to run!  Here’s how a picture turned out from my cellphone, trying to show you what July 16 was looking like in the UK:

This was taken around 11:30am, and it was dark, gray, and drizzly out.  Not as dark as the picture shows, but dark.  Thankfully, it didn’t pour on me, but there was a spot of rain here and there.

Here’s a picture from when I returned, a bit damp 🙂

I have been having contractions off and on still, and have been feeling quite wiped out, but am still not confident that I am “in labor” as of Monday night, 9:43pm.  I don’t plan on posting this until I am in labor – so I can report on the efficacy of the run more completely.  Just thought I’d start the post now,  seeing as though, once the labor starts and finishes, I may be too busy to write a proper post 🙂  Now at 11:14pm, contractions seem to be 15 minutes apart while they were 25-30 minutes apart a few hours ago.

Writing this now at 3:30am on Tuesday (the day I think I’ll be posting this…) because the contractions are too strong to sleep through by now and are about 12 minutes apart.  Not close enough to call in our help to come sleep over or to wake John up, so I think I’m just going to try to make it to 6am before I call her.  Will I make it that long??? Going to eat some of those Golden Grahams I bought last week at the commissary and chill out with The Hunger Games which I’ve been holding out on reading specifically for when I’m in labor because I thought it would be the book most able to distract me 🙂  Heading to the hospital now – 3:11pm on Tuesday! Here we go!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Running 3 days after I was due…does it induce labor???

  1. Yay!!!! I hope it all goes smoothly and you and baby boy Armstrong are healthy and happy 🙂 good call on the hunger games! I read all three in four days after I got them for Christmas hahah, they’re pretty light reads but still fairly entertaining as far as dystopic goes. Anyway, glad to hear you’re finally doing this, good luck! (not that you’ll need it after five 😉 ) Love, Christine 🙂

  2. Yay!!! Praying for a quick one. All that running should count for something 🙂 good call on the Hunger Games!

  3. Thank you for calling me yesterday!!! 🙂 🙂 it was so great to hear that everything went well and it was cute when John said I had a new baby brother 🙂 Can’t wait to see pictures and hear more about how the house is running with a new addition. And when is the next one due? 😉

What's Your Take?

