Sunny enough for a cookout! In England!!

4 Comments

Maybe there is hope for the Summer Olympics after all?  Sunny today, and supposed to be all this coming week.  Not sure about after that.  The Reading Scottish Pipe Band was supposed to play for a Vintage Steam Rally today (a sort of parade of old Victorian Steam Engine driven tractors and such – they happen around the country here year-round.) but it was cancelled ahead of time due to all the previous bad weather – too much mud probably for a lot of things to even make it out of their barns!!  They had planned a cookout for afterwards at someone’s house, so that still went ahead, and my mom and I headed over there show off the new baby and to turn in all my kit from the band.  We also took Greer, who was the life of the party.

I guess they liked Daniel a bit, too 🙂  They were the only two children there, as, other than the few unmarried young guys in the band,  I am the youngest member 🙂 Here are a few of the little man enjoying some attention…

 

My mom had her first Pimms today (here she is in her pretty pink dress) because as we came outside I noticed the tent and thought she ought to try some while she’s in England.  The hostess made her a nice cup of Pimms over ice with tonic water, lemonade, and chunks of fruit and cucumber which she loved.

This “having a new baby” thing sure makes me rather boring!! I don’t have much to say because I am so tired I just can’t think straight!  I can’t think enough to post a recipe or a trip report or much of anything. I only can think about sleeping…some time in the next four hours hopefully I’ll crawl into a bed for a little sleep in between feedings.  Until then, I think I’ll make some popcorn for dinner – an especially yummy popcorn.  Gee I guess I’ll post a recipe about it!

Super Yummy Popcorn

Popcorn – big bowl full

In a saucepan, melt half a stick of butter.

Add one bag of marshmallows and stir until they are melted and mixed with the butter.

Scrape out all the messy marshmallow stuff with a spatula into the popcorn and stir until you can’t stand to look at it anymore because you just want to eat it.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sunny enough for a cookout! In England!!

  1. Man I haven’t checked the blog in a few days but you’ve sure been busy! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to explain infant potty training to people, only to have them look at me like I have three heads, all the while every other sentence is, no no it’s not that weird! it really works and it’s totally worth it! hahah, but anyway, Daniel is beautiful and from the couple pictures I think that he is going to look very similar to Gabriel! Though that might be my mind playing tricks on me hahah. I’m glad you got to enjoy a cook-out and I’m also glad to see you’ve started the passing baby off on other people time so he gets used to that and you’re not always coddling him hehe. I hope the sleep schedule keeps on keeping on and you start to feel back to your normal non-pregnant awesome self, as opposed to your pregnant awesome self, both of which are awesome, but just differ in the occupancy of your uterus 🙂

  2. Also, from your other post, I LOVE that little potty that closes up with a handle. SO convenient!! 🙂

What's Your Take?

