Daniel’s first Train Trip – a Day spent in Bath!

Leave a comment

Just returned home – and scarfed down some take-out Chinese food we picked up on the way – from an afternoon in Bath.  I visited Bath in October with my parents and LOVED the Roman Baths Museum.  I will have to do a full “Tuesday Trip Report” about what we saw and did in Bath back in October.  Today I basically went there just for a massage – but the point was to take John so that he could see the Roman Baths Museum for himself, without having to drag around all the other children through something they really wouldn’t appreciate.  Stephanie came over to babysit, and my mom, John, and I took the train from Swindon to Bath, with Daniel in tow.  Since Grandma and I had already seen the museum, we scheduled a massage for me and a manicure for her and anticipated a nice relaxing day 🙂

with John and Daniel in Bath

with John and Daniel in Bath

We left the house a few minutes later than intended and then couldn’t find a parking lot (no signs for the long term parking along the way, although we saw it as we walked up to the station from another car park several blocks away), so we missed our 1:55pm train.  Not a very relaxing beginning to the trip.  We hopped on the 2:30 train instead and made it to the appointment 15 minutes late.  So it still worked out fine after a frantic call to the spa and a fast walk from the train station.  John walked halfway there with us and then veered off towards the Roman Baths; however, he didn’t realize he was there to tour the baths since I kept telling him to head to Bath Abbey (which is in the courtyard with the Roman Baths.)  I also mentioned to him that you can see the Starbucks from the top of the Abbey.  Apparently I had never really told him the plan, which I found out later when we met up and he had only gone on the Tower Tour of the Abbey.  Ooops.

Bath Abbey

Bath Abbey

the front door of the Abbey

the front door of the Abbey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The massage for me was great, but the relaxing time at a cafe with Daniel for my mom turned into an hour of trying to keep him quiet since he didn’t want to cooperate.  He finally quieted down once she had him strapped in the Baby Bjorn and started walking around a bit outside among the shops, but she basically didn’t get to sit down the whole time.  She was definitely ready for her relaxing manicure by the time I relieved her of Daniel duty!  I carried him around for the 45 minutes of her treatment, and then John met up with us, surprised that he had gone to the wrong landmark.  He and I decided to go back to the baths for the museum tour (it really is a neat place) while my mom would relax in the Pump Room – which is the assembly room, now a restaurant, directly above the baths.  If you’re a Jane Austen fan you should recognize  the Pump Rooms from Persuasion and Northanger Abbey at the very least.  It is featured in several Jane Austen films as well.  

My mom really enjoyed her cheese plate and carafe of wine and finally felt relaxed 🙂  I slowly trailed behind John who was listening to the audio guide, and I stopped to nurse Daniel when he started fussing.  It was pretty relaxing for me since I had already seen it and listened to the commentary, so I didn’t feel the need to concentrate much 🙂

 

 

statue of Julius Caesar at the baths from 1894

statue of Julius Caesar at the baths from 1894

 

 

 

 

 

 

We ended up in the Pump Room afterwards and had a scone with clotted cream and jam, an iced tea (me), and an apple/elderflower/cucumber martini (John.)  We made it to our 6:43pm train just in time and had a quick 30 minute trip back.  Now I am BEAT and cannot wait til bedtime 🙂

In the Pump Room

In the Pump Room

 

fixing my scone

fixing my scone

Did you do anything fun today since it was Saturday?

Do you like to ride on trains? Do you do it often?

Which would you prefer – a one hour massage or a spa manicure?

What's Your Take?

