Running around Redding

Leave a comment

I’m up to Wednesday – getting hard to keep up with the happenings because we have, thankfully, been spending a lot of great time with family and friends!  In a few days we’ll be driving from California to Texas during three long stretches, so if I’m still behind, hopefully I’ll be able to catch up then 🙂

Wednesday morning started out with a 5.5 mile run on the Sacramento River Trail in Redding.

I hit the pavement around 9:30am, a little later than planned, so it was pretty hot on some stretches.  It was a beautiful trail overall, just about 2.5 miles to the bridge across the river up at one end, and then a very curvy, hilly, sunny 3 miles back to the foot bridge near the parking lot.  As I was approaching the second bridge to get back to my van, I was pretty wiped out and excited to be finishing soon.  Imagine my dismay, then, when I rounded a bend and saw the bridge waaaay up ahead.  “Oh no!” I thought, “I’m never going to make it!”  So believe me when I say that I almost shouted for joy when a bridge literally popped up in front of my face – whoa! what’s that doing there!?!  Apparently, the bridge I had seen up ahead was the train bridge, and then closer to me was the road bridge for cars, and under my nose was the River Trail Foot Bridge (I just gave it that title myself.)  From far away they had all melded together because I had no depth perception as I stared into the sun at the apparently distant, elusive bridge.

I took a picture of the train bridge as I drove past it on the way to Starbucks.

My run was pretty good – I ran an easy first mile and then 3 1/2 miles of intervals (about one minute slow, two minutes fast), followed by an easy pace for the remaining distance.  My average pace ended up being 10:40/mile, but I can’t look at my splits because it wouldn’t upload to the Nike website for some reason (I really can’t wait to get my BIA Sports Watch in the spring!)  I was heading over to Starbucks to meet my sister-in-law for a chat.  Next door to the Starbucks in Redding is a “Weinerschnitzl” – a drive-thru that serves hot dogs,  chili dogs, corn dogs, etc.  On the bottom of their sign it says “Tastee Freez” – and I’ve never seen a real Tastee Freez before – have you?  If you’re not familiar with 1980s American Rock Music, you may not remember the John Cougar Meloncamp song with the lyrics “Suckin’ on a chili dog, outside the Tastee Freez” — I’m not sure what the song is called but it’s the one that says, “Oh yeah, Life goes on long after the thrill of livin’ is gone…Hold on to 16 as long as you can, changes come around real soon make us women and men.”  Anyway, here’s my little tribute to the song…

I have a friend in Maui who is from Redding (you know who you are,) and I want her to try to identify this Redding intersection.  For the rest of you, I thought it was a great representation of this little downtown area – a logging truck passing in front of two 1950s motels.  A picture that could have been taken long ago:

The sky looks odd because it is full of smoke from the nearby forest fires.  It wasn’t too bad when I started the run, but by the time I took this picture around noon, the smoke burned my nostrils each time I stepped outside.  Check it out:

After cooling off at home for a bit, John and the children and I went to a California icon for lunch and then to Barnes and Noble for some book therapy.

Fries from potatoes cut there that day

Another “only in America” moment – scripture verses on the bottoms of the food containers

Later that night we had homemade spaghetti with meat sauce (John loves his mom’s spaghetti sauce), and delicious garlic bread made by his dad.

To round off the evening, John’s brother and his family came by to spend a bit more time with us.  His brother Ben soaked up a little more Daniel time:

What's Your Take?

