Weekly Recipe Recommend: Creamy Chicken Korma and Saag Chicken

3 Comments

 

Here's our creamy chicken korma.  Double yum!

Here’s our creamy chicken korma. Double yum!

Since I generally followed recipes, I don’t have much to say, but I will lead you along with me through pictures and point out any differences. Let me post the recipe first so we know where to start:

http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/4339/creamy-chicken-korma.aspx

I will not “cut and paste” the ingredients because they’re all in British-speak (ie, tossing around words like “grams” and “hob” and “gas mark 4” and such), so here I have written them up, with my substitutions or changes already made:

CREAMY CHICKEN KORMA CURRY

-1.5 pounds chicken breast (or whatever a “package” of organic boneless skinless from Costco weighs in at)

-1 onion, chopped

-1 tsp minced ginger (found on the Indian food shelf, already minced, in a jar)

-half bulb of garlic, sliced or minced (not in original recipe)

-150 ml Chicken stock (I think it was about 1/3 cup)

-1 can coconut milk

-50g ground almonds

-slivered almonds to top it at the end

-fresh cilantro, to top it at the end

-1-2 Tbsp Olive oil

-2 Tbsp curry powder

-1 tsp salt

First, I diced up the onions, and I used a cool garlic/almond slicer from Pampered Chef to make a ton of slivered garlic and almonds.

photo-440

  • Cook the onions, ginger, and garlic in a bit of Olive oil over medium heat 4-5 minutes until softened. Then add the curry powder and stir it into the onions for one minute. Add the chicken and cook until about fifteen minutes. Pour in the stock and coconut milk; season with salt to taste (about 1 tsp). Boil and cook about 10 minutes. Stir in the ground almonds before serving to thicken up. When I made this with lamp I transferred it to the oven at 350 F for 45 minutes instead of the “boil and cook 10 minutes” part.
    Garnish with the almonds and cilantro when you serve it over rice.
    photo-448

Here’s the second curry I made, the Chicken Saag:

http://www.food.com/recipe/saag-chicken-100674

My variation of the recipe:

CHICKEN SAAG CURRY

1 1/2 lbs chicken pieces, skinned and cubed
5 cloves garlic, sliced
1 large onions, diced
1 (400 g) can crushed tomatoes
1 tsp ginger, minced
2 tablespoons milk (I used Almond Milk)
24 ounces spinach, washed & chopped
1 tablespoons butter
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 big cardamom pod
4 tablespoons oil
1 teaspoon garam masala (I used a special curry powder instead because it was all I had – it had many of the same things that are in the “garam masala” recipes online)
1/4-1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon water

Directions:
-Put the spinach in a pot, add 1/4C water.
Bring to the boil and remove from heat.
When cool, grind very well (almost to a paste) in blender and set aside.
Here’s some of the pre-cooked spinach:

 

Fry the chicken in 3 tbs oil for around 3-4 minutes until lightly browned and set aside.

Heat the remaining oil in a pan and add ginger, garlic and onions.
Fry until lightly brown.

 

 

Add tomatoes, salt, cayenne pepper, ground coriander, turmeric, cloves and cardamom.
photo-443
Sprinkle with 1 tbs water.
Cook for 10 minutes on a low heat.
Add chicken and milk to the pan.
Simmer until the chicken is tender (about 10 minutes).
photo-446
Add spinach and garam masala to the pan.
At this point I realized I had already added the special curry powder which took the place of the garam masala, and I think the boiling of it probably cooked out a bit too much of the flavor.
Cook until spinach starts sticking to the pan (about 15 minutes).
Remove from heat, add butter and cover until ready to serve with rice.

Here it is in the pan before serving:

photo-559

It was super-yummy. 🙂 We scarfed down the leftovers tonight with naan from Trader Joe’s, and I felt like it was free Indian take-out (all the goodness without all the fuss of having to really make it.)

I realized in the last few days that I completely addicted to chocolate. I have it several times a day in vast quantities. I probably eat the equivalent of 2-3 Hershey Bars a day, disguised in fancy dark chocolate bits, bars, and chews. I do it, or so I tell myself, for behavior modification purposes (ie – I am a wreck without it.) In reality, I think I must be dependent upon the caffeine and sugar. Time to come back to reality. I have put a plan in place, and John has hidden the chocolate for me. When I first found out I was pregnant with Daniel in November 2011, I realized then I had worked my way up to lots of chocolate each day because it started to make me feel ill, and I ended up throwing away all the chocolate in the house and staying away from it until around 7 months pregnant. I remember when I was pregnant with Greer, eating chocolate made my teeth hurt. I am not pregnant now, but I recognize chocolate to be a problem (I’ve felt sick today and a few days ago immediately after eating it – from eating too much of it at once) and am going to nip it in the bud before a pregnancy drives me to it. This time my motivation is just my own good health; we shall see if that is enough to keep me going! When carrying another life inside, eating well is driven by the way certain foods make me feel plus how they affect my little baby and my health in pregnancy, so it’s easier to stick with it. When it’s just me depending on my choices, well, let’s just say, I am much easier on myself. 🙂

Reasons to give up chocolate (until I am able to handle it in small amounts again without going overboard): 1) I eat it to the point of feeling sick. 2) I am becoming dependent on the caffeine in it to make it through rough points in the day. 3) I am having mini “crashes” from the sugar (and then lack of it) making me need to have more. 4) Having this much sugar is making me crave sugar more regularly than I have been in the recent past. 5) II have expensive taste in chocolate. 🙂

Time for family movie night – “Young Indiana Jones” with some popcorn. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekly Recipe Recommend: Creamy Chicken Korma and Saag Chicken

  1. Your recipes look super yummy. Reminds me of my visit last year and of living in Kenya, where there is a ton of really good Indian food (who knew!?).

    I applaud your efforts to give up chocolate. It sounds hard! I’m realizing that I’m slowly but surely drinking more sugar in my beverages (sweetened condensed milk in my coffee, a new mocha powder I got for Christmas, honey in my hot tea at work, and yesterday I even put simple syrup in my iced tea–gasp!) I know I need to work on weaning myself back off of it because I’ve noticed I’m craving it more too.

    I saw on fb you’re trying for a 15 minute run. Glad you’re getting back out there, even if it’s just a little at a time. I’m heading out for an 8-mile attempt this evening. Got up at 6 to do it this morning and then realized it would still be dark for another hour, so I scrapped that idea. (Gonna run the road to Timberline, which is both unpaved and unlit. I see bad things happening trying to run it in the dark) Hopefully we’ll get to run together at some point this year!

    • Thanks Leah!! Today has been tough, off and on 🙂 Going to write it up in a minute in the blog post I think I’m about to work on 🙂 Painful PF in the right foot still, but no worse than it had been. Possibly a little too much running still. Going to scale back to ten minutes. Man this is rough not being able to run! The PF is exhibiting itself in horrible pain in the foot after I wake up in the morning or when I’ve been sitting more than an hour. Working on it (long post in the making.)

      Glad to hear you pulled off the run, even with the craziness 🙂

What's Your Take?

