Baking Day Bonanza

Leave a comment

Just checking in for a few minutes in order to motivate myself to get back up to wrap all the breads up and throw them in the freezer.  Tomorrow perhaps I will post the pretzel recipe I used (I altered one I found online in order to soak the freshly ground flour) because I am thrilled to say that the pretzels are delicious.  After eating one tomorrow I can report back on what they taste like when they are not straight out of the oven.  I plan on freezing a few of them so I can check out the taste and texture after a few weeks.  As you’ll see in this one picture when you attempt to spot the pretzels, they are too fluffy to really look much like pretzels.  That’s a problem I will need to work on the next time I make them, but for now, I’m just the fluffy pretzels since they’re yummy enough. 🙂

Shown here: 6 loaves of focaccia, 16 mini loaves and 3 large loaves of sandwich bread, and a bunch of cinnamon-sugar coated pretzels (brown from the sucanat used instead of regular sugar); not shown: 2 big loaves and 8 mini loaves baked this morning at a new friend's house, the loaf of cinnamon-sugar bread we ate with dinner, 4-5 pretzels we already squirreled away in our bellies :)

Shown here: 6 loaves of focaccia, 16 mini loaves and 3 large loaves of sandwich bread, and a bunch of cinnamon-sugar coated pretzels (brown from the sucanat used instead of regular sugar); not shown: 2 big loaves and 8 mini loaves baked this morning at a new friend’s house, the loaf of cinnamon-sugar bread we ate with dinner, 4-5 pretzels we already squirreled away in our bellies 🙂  Everything but the kitchen sink — oh no WAIT! There it is in the background, full of dishes which I probably won’t wash til Friday! Hahahahaha…….

We had  a bit of a rough time last night when Greer randomly decided to come downstairs at midnight while I was working on my blog and then stay awake until 3:15am insisting that I “snuggle” with her, which I did in order to keep her crying at bay so she wouldn’t wake the whole house.  I think the only time she has ever done that was in her first few weeks of life, so it was very unexpected and not so pleasant.  I hoped she would therefore sleep in later, so I set my alarm for 10:15am to make sure I’d be up in time to be at our neighbor’s house for some playtime and baking by 11am.  And yet, who did I hear creeping into my room at 8:15am?  Why yes, it was Greer!  Oh well.  It’s not like I can’t survive occasionally on five hours of sleep. 🙂 Greer apparently functions quite well on so little sleep, as evidenced by her ability to play (mostly without fussing) until we made it home at 4pm for her nap (Usually she naps around 2pm.)  Getting to know more neighbors who homeschool was a treat, and I helped the mom out with a bit of bread-baking skills since she has been grinding wheat for a while and unable to make a loaf of bread which held its rise well enough.  She took this picture of me rolling out the loaves so I can add it to my blog entry on Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread.  (This was accomplished with TWELVE children in the house since we each have 6!!)

IMG_4384

Once home, I took my soaked flour for each of the two sandwich bread recipes and added the remaining ingredients.  Finally, there was time for a short break.  Then it was on to the preparation of the dough for the pretzels and the focaccia breads as well as grilling up some sausages to eat with this bread for our dinner:

I laid down a layer of honey, sucanat, and cinnamon before rolling up the dough into a loaf.

I laid down a layer of honey, sucanat, and cinnamon before rolling up the dough.

The underneath side of the dough once I dump it on the counter after its rise in a bowl - I think this was sandwich bread, but I can't be sure :)

The underneath side of the dough once I dumped it on the counter after its rise in a bowl – I think this was sandwich bread, but I can’t be sure 🙂

I love the size of our ovens in the US!  Lots of focaccia bread rising on the counter which I was able to cook all at once!

I love the size of our ovens in the US! Lots of focaccia bread rising on the counter which I was able to cook all at once!

All for now because I need to get back to work in the kitchen, but first, here’s Greer.  She put one of those sleeping masks on her head, and I thought it made her look like a bellboy from an old hotel.  What do you think? 🙂

IMG_4407

 

 

What's Your Take?

