Quiche for the Masses

9 Comments

Not your boring ordinary quiche, but a super-yummy one that my kids devour – and it freezes really well, so it’s always one of the recipes that makes it into my freezer around baby due dates 🙂  Today is a bit of a rest day from cooking – I made up a brand new recipe which I put into the crockpot before heading out for my appointment with the midwife.  (I’ll blog about it tomorrow – only if it is successful – when I also tell you about the next freezer item – the pulled chicken and rolls.)  After the midwife I went for a 5 mile run in the glorious sunshine, and even though it was only 65-70 degrees out, it was sunny enough to be thankful for the shaded paths I found along the way.  Since I was running from down in town I could branch out farther than I have been able to lately and discovered a new trail right off the main road that lots of business people were using during their lunch hour to take a nice stroll.  They must have wondered what this crazy pregnant lady was doing on their trail 🙂  I am 36 weeks in two days but measured only 34 weeks today at the appointment, as I did two weeks ago, so now we have an ultrasound scheduled to make sure my fluid levels are okay and such.  We have had them checked late in the pregnancy with every baby since the first pregnancy ended with being induced due to low fluids.  The run felt good enough – even causing me to smile at points and get speedy with it – but I’m not going to lie — running at 36 weeks is just plain hard!! I know if I were a smaller pregnant person – or a taller one who’s entire body isn’t taken over by the baby each time – that it might be easier, but for now, I’m just one big belly streaking past you 🙂 Hahaha 🙂  Here’s a picture John snapped of me when I got home from the run, in our lovely backyard by the roses 🙂

Now, on to the good stuff!  I made this quiche yesterday after cleaning up from the day before’s bread-baking and bean-making free-for-all that left the kitchen a bit, well, untidy.  Good thing my helper Stephanie was here on Monday, or it would have been a million times worse! I also had to put away my grocery delivery (I know – poor me – the store DELIVERS my groceries — something I will definitely miss about the UK!) and raise 5 children including feeding them and schooling them….so it was around 2:30pm by the time I got started on the quiche, right after baby was down for a nap.  I had a little help, though – with Gabriel browning the sausage for me while Patience spread the peanut butter and jelly onto the bread for their lunch, all while I did dishes and got ready to go for the quiche.  I make it sound like a huge effort, but from start to finish it was really only about 1 hour and 45 minutes to make 5 quiches – which is probably good for 2 dinners and 2 lunches for us.  Score!

Here’s Gabriel browning the sausage.  I’ll write the recipe out at the end of the post for just one normal-sized quiche (in a deep dish pie pan) but will go ahead and tell you along the way what I used for 5 – three of them in tin-foil pie pans which are pretty small.  We like to use Jimmy Dean sausage, and I used one roll of regular and one roll of hot, mixed, to add a little spice.  Each roll is 1 pound.

This quiche is from a recipe called “Meat and Potato Quiche” in the More With Less Cookbook (I altered it slightly) so you can guess what is in the crust – potato!  I broke out my handy food processor, for which I paid $1 at a yard sale about 14 years ago.  I use the grating attachment to grate the potatoes for the crust, but however you do it, you’re going to need about 3 cups grated potatoes per quiche, along with one cup of grated cheese, so if you’re making a lot I hope you have a quick way to grate things 🙂  You need to preheat the oven and put about 3 Tbsp of oil in the bottom  

of your pie dish so that once you have grated the potatoes you can put them straight into the oil to keep them from turning that ugly brownish-black color.  Mix the potato with the oil with your hands and then press the potato into the edges of the pan and onto the bottom to make a pie crust.  Make sure you use enough potato to completely cover the bottom of the pan!

 

Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes at 425, until it starts to crisp up a little and the edges are starting to brown a bit.  After I take mine out of the oven I try to pour a little of the excess oil off so that it won’t be as oily when we eat it.

 

While that’s cooking, you can grate the cheese and make up the filling.  My recipe called for evaporated milk, which I don’t like to use unless I have to, or “rich” milk (part cream), so I opted for the “part cream” and used 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of cream.  I was basically doing four times (instead of five) the recipe in the cookbook for the fillings because I have discovered in the past that the amounts given always seem to overfill my quiches.  I beat my eggs for about 30 seconds first, and then stir in the milk, cream, and salt.  Here we have all the fillings lined up and

ready to go – the egg/milk mixture, the browned sausage, and four cups of grated cheese.  Why yes, that is a Sergeant Pepper pepper mill in the background!! (Along with a bobby-cop salt mill 🙂 )

Here’s a shot of all five crusts out of the oven, ready to be filled with goodness:

Here are the various stages of filling – first you put the cheese in the bottom (picture on the right), then the meat (any kind of cooked meat you like really – and this would be where to add in a vegetable), and finally the egg/milk mixture.  Bake them 30 minutes at 425 again, and then let them sit a while before serving.  Personally, I prefer to make them ahead and then reheat them so that they are firmer for eating.  Here in England, they often serve cold quiche at gatherings (along with cold pork pies – ick), but I always prefer to eat my quiche hot.  When I freeze them, I thaw them in the fridge for about 2 days and then heat them covered with foil at a low temperature – usually about 200-250 – for a few hours in the afternoon before dinner or while we’re at church.  Aren’t they lovely?

I tried to sneak peas in last time, and everyone hated it 😦  As I said yesterday, when I’m cooking for the freezer I normally just do the main courses, and then we add fresh vegetables or salad the night we eat it.  Last night was delicious asparagus, which I decided to saute in the pan I had used for the sausage.  Yum!

Here’s the recipe for you – makes one quiche:

Meat and Potato Quiche

For the crust:

Preheat the oven to 425 F.

3 Tbsp E.V.O.O.

3 cups grated potato

Mix the oil and potato, then press the potato into the pie pan.  Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes at 425 F until starting to brown.

Layer in to the cooked crust:

1 cup grated cheese (I use sharp cheddar.)

1/2 pound cooked meat (I use Jimmy Dean pork sausage.)

Pour this mixture over the fillings:

1 cup rich milk (I use half-and-half or half milk and half cream.)

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

Bake at 425 F for 30 minutes.

Now to spend the afternoon relaxing (recovering really!) on the couch while baby naps and our dinner cooks in the crockpot.  I’ll let you know tomorrow how it turns out!  That’s the tough thing about crockpots – you can’t really “taste-test” along the way very well and just have to use an educated guess on how much of things to add – since you only get to taste the finished product!

What is your favorite type of quiche? Do you like it cold or hot?

Do you cook for the freezer? Do you have a favorite freezer recipe?

9 thoughts on “Quiche for the Masses

  1. I was going to suggest bell peppers as a veg option, but then I read your beans post and saw that your kids don’t go for peppers. Corn might work. Not the most nutritive veg, but kids like it. Tomatoes maybe, but it could make things gooshy.

    If you did ham instead of sausage you could add some squash (zucchini and/or yellow), tomatoes, asparagus, broccoli, etc.

    I like recipes like this, where it’s really just a platform for you to build upon. Especially when feeding a family this is nice, because you can incorporate variety in some basic dishes, making them different each time, so the menu stays interesting.

    • The problem with them is that cooked veggies are not as popular as raw ones or even lightly steamed or sauted ones. So I should say – veggies cooked into things aren’t a big hit, but they don’t seem to mind them on their own. I’ve tried to change up the quiche before with ham, hamburger, etc, but we always go back to the sausage as a favorite 🙂

      • Well there is that: kids do tend to be creatures of habit. 🙂 And I don’t blame them for liking the sausage version.

        I should really not read about food right now, because when I do, I want it. Ah, pregnancy.

      • Ah yes a problem I have as well. Especially now that some food people follow the blog…and then I check out their blogs…oh, it’s bad. And I don’t normally have cravings-just when I see a picture or someone mentions something I want it. Here let me see what this does to you: seasoned curly fries from jack in the box extra tummy corner drugstore strawberry shake….hahaha I am so mean 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Aftermath of the marathon! (Not that bad…) | Who's running this place anyway?

What's Your Take?

