Sugar Cookies from Heaven (Hawaii really)

1 Comment
looking at a Christmas cookie tower "tree" from above

looking at a Christmas cookie tower “tree” from above

Quick post just to give out my Sugar Cookie Recipe by request.  Pictured above is the only picture from our recent cookie-making spree (for sugar cookies at least  – I took more pictures of the “Holiday Cookies” I made which are my own recipe and which I will share later.)  I think I was supposed to have used two of each size star, but I forgot that until I saw the assembled trees the kids made.  Ooops!  They were still super yummy, which is all that matters. 🙂  Sarah Schmitt (my next door neighbor in Hawaii) gave me this recipe, and there is nothing written on it to tell me where it originated.  Lucky for you, I am sharing it here, because I am telling you – they are the best sugar cookies on the planet.  If you cook them properly, they stay soft and yummy, but firm.  The taste is just perfect.  Turn your nose up at them if you will, thinking you’ve had enough sugar cookies to last you a lifetime, but you will be missing out.  Consider yourself warned.

Sarah’s Sugar Cookies

2 sticks room temperature unsalted (I assume, since salt is in the recipe.)

3/4 cup sugar

3 egg yolks

2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Cream butter, sugar, and vanilla until smooth.  Scrape bowl and mix in eggs.  Whisk flour, salt, and powder together and then add it to the mixer containing the butter concoction.  Combine until just mixed.

Wrap dough in plastic and chill until firm.  Roll out to 1/4 inch thick and cut into cookies.  Bake at 350 degrees (F) until edges are JUST GOLDEN – about 6-8 minutes.

These cookies took about 8 1/2 minutes for me on the correct cookie sheet.  On a normal, poorly cookie sheet (scarred with all sorts of things) the cookie stuck to the sheet and when just barely golden on the edges was crispy just moments out of the oven.  On an air bake cookie sheet, they were easy to remove from the cookie sheet and stayed soft even days later.  The very large stars on the bottom of the Christmas trees needed another minute because otherwise they didn’t firm up in the middle.  I hope someone reading this makes these cookies and decides they are amazing.  Here’s a simple frosting recipe as well, but we used canned frosting this time:

1/3 cup softened butter

1 pound powdered sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

One thought on “Sugar Cookies from Heaven (Hawaii really)

  1. I will be attempting them today! I am so glad to find a tried and true sugar recipe that doesn’t involve crisco… someone put on FB the other day an old Crisco ad that read “Crisco… It’s Disgestable”

What's Your Take?

